top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Wheelock

Overcoming Depression: Faith

Updated: Jul 3, 2019

Hello everybody! If this is your first time here, hello! I'm Emily and this is my blog 'Tribe&True'. For those of you who have been here before, WELCOME BACK!  Make sure you are following me on Instagram and Twitter. Also, make sure you like my 'Tribe&True' Facebook page to get all the latest information on my blog and to see my daily life on Instagram! Links at the bottom! Now, ON TO THE BLOG>>>>>>>>

Day 4: Faith

"Now faith is the reality of what is hoped for, the proof of what is not seen."Hebrews 11:1
FAITH: (noun)
1. Complete trust or confidence in someone or something.  What must we believe to have a biblical faith? Jesus as the Son of God? God as our Father and Creator? The Bible, cover to cover? Yes to every one of those. Faith does not come easy. Trusting people is hard; especially if you don't know them. Trusting someone you have not physically seen but have only heard stories of? Now that sounds insane! Or does it. Not believing in anything is insane to me. Especially when so much of science supports the existence of a creator.

There are three aspects of faith I want to look at with you.  1. Faith-Hope

There are times in your journey when your faith will be tested. Mine is always being tested. You might feel overwhelmed but faith as hope will drive you home. Your hope for a better tomorrow; that's what keeps you going. When we are praying to the Lord for help and having faith, He will do something.

"Even before they call, I will answer; while they are still speaking, I will here." Isaiah 65:24


      2. Faith-Choice Faith as a choice is a faith that gives ground. You are using your faith to make choices. 

"Don't envy a violent man or choose any of His ways..."Proverbs 3:31     


3. Faith-Times of Tragedy

There are two ways, in my book, to take this one.


1) Tragedy is a test. Will you stay or will you go? It's a lot like that one character from God's Not Dead (1). The professor whose mother suffered and later died. He reveals later that he was once a christian until he watched his mother die. Faith in presence of tragedy is a faith well tested.


2) A lot of us only call upon God when we want something. I don't think that what this means but I have never wanted to be that christian that only turns to God when my life isn't going the way I want it to. He takes and He gives but I don't want Him to think I'm not in it for the haul and only in it for what He can supply for me. I love what He can give me, but I also want to supply for Him. To me, that meant starting this blog. Supplying Him with believers as best I can. Sharing His word, as He says to do. Doing what I can so I feel like I not getting a hand out. The problem with that philosophy is that is not how it works. Your works, the things you do, that is not what gets you to heaven. Your undying belief, faith, salvation; that is is what gets you to heaven. Your heart. In the end, the way of your heart is what determines your fate. 


As we will talk about tomorrow, salvation and Jesus play the biggest roll in faith. You cannot have one with out the other. To stay in good faith, you must believe in Jesus. To believe in Jesus, you must have faith. How to keep that faith is another story. Keep doing the things that make you happy and strong. Allow grievance when you have lost. Be patient and give. Get involved in your church and stay focused. Most importantly, keep reading your bible                      Alright, that's it for me! With these words and thoughts, I leave you. See you soon!! And remember, always stay humble and kind.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/_EmilyIRL Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/_emilyirl/

-Emily

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page