top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Wheelock

Overcoming Depression: Righteousness

Updated: Jul 3, 2019

Hello everybody! If this is your first time here, hello! I'm Emily and this is my blog 'Tribe&True'. For those of you who have been here before, WELCOME BACK!  Make sure you are following me on Instagram and Twitter. Also, make sure you like my 'Tribe&True' Facebook page to get all the latest information on my blog and to see my daily life on Instagram! Links at the bottom! Now, ON TO THE BLOG>>>>>>>>

Day 2: Righteousness

"He will receive blessings from the LORD, and righteousness from God of his salvation." Psalm 24:5

The enemy is really good at finding our hearts and destroying them. Your heart is where everything flows from. When people say that you don't truly know someones heart, it means that you don't know their intentions. Your mouth, eyes, mind, actions, that all is controlled by your heart. I know scientifically the right half of your brain controls the left half of your body and vise versa, but that's not what I'm saying. Cain killed his brother Able out of jealousy and spite that came from his heart. 

How do I guard my heart?

It's actually harder than you think. You are human. You are going to make mistakes. There is no stopping that. What you have to do is get better at not making those mistakes. Guarding your heart is actually taking control of your inner desires, feelings, choices and emotions. In Proverbs 4:23-26, Solomon Son of David says, "Guard your heart above all else, for it is the source of life. Don't let your mouth speak dishonestly, and don't let your lips talk deviously. Let your eyes look forward; fix your gaze straight ahead. Carefully consider the path for your feet, and all your ways will be established." The enemy will do everything he can to get you to slip up. He doesn't stop. He keeps after it until you can't take anymore. Check your heart and then guard it. It'll give him one less thing to toy with.

Alright, that's it for me! With these words and thoughts, I leave you. See you soon!! And remember, always stay humble and kind.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/_EmilyIRL Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/_emilyirl/

-Emily

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page