top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Wheelock

Overcoming Depression: Salvation

Updated: Jul 3, 2019

Hello everybody! If this is your first time here, hello! I'm Emily and this is my blog 'Tribe&True'. For those of you who have been here before, WELCOME BACK!  Make sure you are following me on Instagram and Twitter. Also, make sure you like my 'Tribe&True' Facebook page to get all the latest information on my blog and to see my daily life on Instagram! Links at the bottom! Now, ON TO THE BLOG>>>>>>>>

Day 5: Salvation


"Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from Him." Psalm 62:1


We've talked about this multiple times. We sort of  tapped the glass about this yesterday. Yes. It is salvation day. Well, you can be saved any day, anywhere, anytime, but today we will be talking about salvation. 


What is salvation?


You can't have salvation without Jesus. He is the reason we have salvation. Being saved by Jesus means accepting Him as your personal savior. You are saying, "I believe in you. I believe you died for me and my sins." Salvation is by grace. Grace; that is God's goodness, mercy, and love. 


Why should I accept Jesus as my savior?


Jesus shows you love and empathy you didn't know existed. The importance of Jesus as Messiah in Christianity is great. He was/is believed to be the Messiah-- the one to save us from our sins and hell, if only we were to believe in Him. Through His crucifixion and resurrection, we can be reconciled with God. We are offered salvation and eternal life with God. 


Salvation is important in overcoming depression for a few reasons. We talk about, in the beginning, how the devil is the father of lies and how he uses those lies to attack us. Salvation, as the fifth strategy in our battle plan. It leaves a mark on us that the enemy cannot penetrate, like a tattoo or deep scar. 

If you are at a point where you have realized you need salvation and you need Jesus, your prayer should come from the heart but there are many you can pray as long as you believe it. Jesus is the only way. He is the way, the truth in the life (John 14:6). 


Salvation Prayer:

Things to remember.


Acknowledge the Jesus is Lord.

Confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord.

Believe that Jesus died for your sins and had risen from the dead three days after. He is alive!

Repent your sins and be baptized in the name of Jesus.



A normal salvation prayer goes something like:


"God, I recognize that I have not lived my life for You up until now. I have been living for myself and that is wrong. I need You in my life; I want You in my life. I acknowledge the completed work of Your Son Jesus Christ in giving His life for me on the cross at Calvary, and I long to receive the forgiveness you have made freely available to me through this sacrifice. Come into my life now, Lord. Take up residence in my heart and be my king, my Lord, and my Savior. From this day forward, I will no longer be controlled by sin, or the desire to please myself, but I will follow You all the days of my life. Those days are in Your hands. I ask this in Jesus' precious and holy name. Amen."



                       Alright, that's it for me! With these words and thoughts, I leave you. See you soon!! 

And remember, always stay humble and kind.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/_EmilyIRL Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/_emilyirl/

-Emily

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page